Encasings: effective asthma protection

Mite-resistant bed covers – known as encasings – can protect children with asthma, and who also suffer from a house dust mite allergy, from severe seizures. This was found by a British study.

Encasings: effective asthma protection

Those who are allergic to house dust mites are often also affected by asthma. As 90 per cent of the total number of house dust mites in a dwelling are concentrated in the bed, protective covers can provide relief. The so-called encasings ensure that cushions, blankets and mattresses are all insulated against allergies, reduce the allergenic exposure to mites.

Scientifically tested

British researchers carried out a study on children between the ages of 3 and 17 years with asthma and concomitant house dust mite allergy. Its hypothesis: A reduction in the concentration of mite allergens should also reduce the number of serious asthma attacks. For this reason they let 123 out of 286 children sleep in mildew-proof bed-covers for a period of one year; the 118 children in the control group received identical-looking covers without mite-repellent properties. The result is clear: dust samples showed that the concentration of mite allergens in the first group fell by 84 per cent. In comparison to the placebo group, the incidence of hospitalisation as a result of asthma attacks fell by 45 per cent in this group of children.

A sensible measure

The intermediate covers are mite- and allergen-repellent, but have high air and water vapour permeability. In addition to high durability, they are easy to clean and hygienically washable at 60°C to 95°C. Some carry the  Allergy Seal of Quality.

 

Study: Preventing Severe Asthma Exacerbations in Children: A Randomised Trial of Mite Impermeable Bedcover, Murray, Clare S; Foden, Philip; Sumner, Helen; Shepley, Elizabeth; Custovic, Adnan; Simpson, Angela. In: American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Vol. 196, No. 2, 0, 10.03.2017, p. 0.

 

 


more news

Woman shopping, woman with face cream, hoover, laughing child in bed, Allergy Seal of Quality

We have certified new products for you

More choice for people with allergies, intolerances, or sensitive skin. In recent weeks, we have again certified several products that were tested and approved in accordance with the strictest requirements.  Discover the products

Women on the phone

Allergic?

Do you suffer from an allergy or intolerance and are looking for products suitable for you? Here you will find a large selection of products with the Allergy Seal of Quality, which are certified and tested by Service Allergie Suisse. They are also recommended by aha! Swiss Allergy Center. Do you have questions about allergies? Advisors from aha! Swiss Allergy Center will be happy to take time for a detailed consultation: by telephone via the aha!infoline: +41 31 359 90 50 or in writing using the form. More information

Swiss mountain with the Allergy Seal of Quality

The concept Allergy Seal of Quality

Thanks to its nationwide visibility, the Allergy Seal of Quality has a very high recognition value. With certified products, you have the opportunity to open up new markets even in economically difficult times. You can count on the trust of the people who are affected, as information, safety and transparency are important for them when making purchasing choices. Learn more

Encasings: protection efficace contre l'asthme

La literie anti-acariens – dénommée encasings – contribue à éviter les crises chez les enfants asthmatiques souffrant également d'une allergie aux acariens de la poussière. Telle est la conclusion d'une étude britannique.

Encasings: protection efficace contre l'asthme

Les personnes souffrant d'une allergie aux acariens de la poussière ont souvent des problèmes d'asthme. Étant donné que dans un logement, 90 pour cent de la quantité totale d'acariens de la poussière se concentrent dans les lits, une literie de protection spéciale peut être d'une grande aide. La technologie appelée encasings rend les oreillers, couvertures et matelas imperméables aux allergènes et réduit ainsi la charge allergique due aux acariens.

Testé scientifiquement

Des chercheurs britanniques ont étudié des enfants de 3 à 17 ans souffrant conjointement d'asthme et d'une allergie aux acariens de la poussière. Leur hypothèse: une réduction de la concentration des allergènes d'acariens devrait conduire à une réduction du nombre de crises d'asthme sévères. Afin de tester cette hypothèse, ils ont fait dormir 123 des 286 enfants dans des draps anti-acariens ; les 118 enfants du groupe témoin ont dormi dans des draps identiques, mais pas anti-acariens. Le résultat est clair : les échantillons de poussière ont montré que la concentration en allergènes d'acariens a diminué de 84 pour cent dans le premier groupe. Les enfants du groupe test ont également été 45 pour cent moins susceptibles de se rendre à l'hôpital en raison d'une crise d'asthme comparés au groupe placebo.

Une mesure judicieuse

Les housses sont imperméables aux acariens et aux allergènes, tout en gardant une très bonne perméabilité à l'air et à la vapeur d'eau. En plus d'une grande durabilité, elles sont faciles à nettoyer et lavables hygiéniquement de 60 °C à 95 °C. Une sélection porte le label de qualité Allergie indépendant.

 

Etude: Preventing Severe Asthma Exacerbations in Children: A Randomised Trial of Mite Impermeable Bedcover, Murray, Clare S; Foden, Philip; Sumner, Helen; Shepley, Elizabeth; Custovic, Adnan; Simpson, Angela. In: American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Vol. 196, No. 2, 0, 10.03.2017, p. 0.

 

 


Plus de nouvelles

Femme faisant ses courses, femme avec crème pour le visage, aspirateur, enfant riant au lit, label de qualité Allergies

Nous avons certifié de nouveaux produits pour vous

Un plus grand choix pour les personnes souffrant d'allergies, d'intolérances ou de peaux sensibles. Au cours des dernières semaines, nous avons à nouveau certifié plusieurs produits qui ont été testés et approuvés dans le respect des exigences les plus strictes. Voir les produits

conseillère au téléphone

Allergique?

Vous souffrez d'une allergie ou d'une intolérance et vous cherchez des produits qui vous conviennent? Ici vous trouverez un ample choix portant le label de qualité Allergie. Ces produits sont recommandés par aha! Centre d'Allergie Suisse. Vous avez des questions sur les allergies? Les conseillères de aha! Centre d'Allergie Suisse vous vous conseillent volontiers par téléphone via la aha!infoline : +41 31 359 90 50 ou par écrit via le formulaire. Plus d'informations

Les matériaux des différents encasings certifiés (housses de protection anti-acariens) sont-ils différents?

Les matériaux et le tissage peuvent différer, mais cela n'affecte pas la perméabilité aux allergènes des acariens. Des échantillons de tissu peuvent être commandés auprès des fabricants. Vous trouverez les coordonnées en bas de page des produits respectifs.