Well protected on the sunny side

The following tips will help you through the summer.

Protect your skin

On a sunny day it is best to look for shade, avoid the midday sun (11 am to 3 pm) and use creams with a high sun protection factor (from SPF 30). If you have sensitive skin, it is best to use lotions that are free of harmful substances. A selection has been awarded the Allergy Seal of Quality.

 

Myth of sun allergy

Red, itchy skin, pustules or wheals – are all symptoms commonly referred to as sun allergy. But only rarely is it really an allergy in the sense of an excessive immune reaction. Usually it is a polymorphic light dermatosis or Mallorca acne. It helps to cool the affected skin and to avoid the sun.

Is prevention possible?

The skin reactions of polymorphic light dermatosis are caused by unusually high selectionUVA and/or UVB radiation. This is why parts of the body that have not been previously exposed to the sun for a long time are particularly affected. It makes sense to acclimatize your skin to the sun slowly and to increase the duration of sun exposure gradually. One of the most common triggers of Mallorca acne is the ingredients of sunscreens or cosmetic products that react with UV radiation. Prevention can be achieved by using grease, perfume and emulsifier-free sun protection products with high UV protection.

More tips

  • apply a physical sunscreen with a high sun protection factor (SPF) in the UVA and UVB range of at least 30 or above before leaving the house. Also protect the lips with a specifically designed product.
  • avoid long and direct exposure to the sun. It is advisable to stay in the shade. Do not forget: snow, sand and water reflect the sun’s rays.
  • allow the skin to slowly become accustomed to UV radiation in the spring and summer months. Increase exposure to the sun only gradually.
  • avoid the midday sun completely from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm.
  • ideally wear light clothing made from natural fibres such as cotton or linen. There is also clothing with special UV protection.
  • protect the head with a sunhat with a sufficiently wide brim. Baseball caps are not ideal, as shown in several studies.
  • wear sunglasses with UV protection.
  • Avoid using any perfume, scented aftershave or lotions with a high fat content before sunbathing.
  • if taking any medication over a prolonged period: ask the doctor about possible interactions, check the package leaflet or ask at the pharmacy.

Additional information can be found on the website of aha! Swiss Allergy Centre.

 

 


more news

Modern and clear: the new database

We have modernised the database of products with the Allergy Seal of Quality and made it more appealing. The product information is presented more clearly, and you can buy the product directly from the manufacturer via a link. An intuitive navigation and an improved search function make it even easier and quicker to find what you are looking for – but take a look for yourself.

Emmy good day – Don't give up dairy products - just lactose!

New in the Emmi good day range: churned, lactose-free butter with rapeseed oil. Not only is it super light and fluffy, it can also be spread straight out of the fridge. Discover the Emmy good day products with the Allergy Seal of Quality.

A new ice age

A summer without ice cream? Unthinkable! Even if you have a milk allergy or lactose intolerance, there's no need to give up ice cream. From creamy chocolate to exotic mango-passion fruit, there are plenty of lactose-and milk-free ice creams with teh Allergy Seal of Quality to choose from. Let yourself be tempted and discover your new favourites. Treat yourself to the carefree pleasure of ice cream this summer!

Bien protégé du côté ensoleillé

Les conseils suivants vous aideront tout au long de l'été.

Protégez votre peau

Par une journée ensoleillée, il est préférable de chercher de l'ombre, d'éviter le soleil de midi (11h à 15h) et d'utiliser des crèmes avec un indice de protection solaire élevé (à partir de SPF 30). Si vous avez la peau sensible, il est préférable d'utiliser des lotions sans substances pouvant lui nuire, par exemple des produits portant le label de qualité Allergie.

Le mythe de l'allergie au soleil
Peau rouge, démangeaisons, pustules ou papules - tous ces symptômes sont communément appelés allergie au soleil. Mais ce n'est que rarement une allergie au sens d'une réaction immunitaire exagérée. Habituellement, il s'agit d'une dermatose polymorphe ou acné de Majorque. Il est utile de rafraîchir la peau affectée et d'éviter le soleil. L'un des déclencheurs les plus courants de l'acné de Majorque sont les ingrédients des écrans solaires ou des produits cosmétiques qui réagissent aux rayons UV. La prévention peut être réalisée en utilisant des produits de protection solaire sans graisse, sans parfum et sans émulsifiant avec une protection UV élevée.

La prévention est-elle possible?

Les réactions cutanées de la dermatose polymorphe sont causées par le rayonnement UVA et/ou UVB anormalement élevé. C'est pourquoi les parties du corps qui n'ont pas été exposées au soleil pendant longtemps sont particulièrement touchées. Il est judisieux habituer lentement votre peau au soleil et augmenter lentement la durée d'exposition au soleil.

Plus des conseils

  • Eviter une exposition prolongée aux rayons directs du soleil. On entend aussi ici la réflexion du rayonnement ultraviolet sur la neige, le sable et l’eau. A propos: les vitres ne protègent pas des UVA.
  • Porter des vêtements légers en fibres naturelles, comme le coton ou le lin par exemple.
  • En cas de prise prolongée de médicaments: questionner le médecin traitant sur les éventuelles interactions possibles, lire la notice d’emballage ou se renseigner auprès du pharmacien.

Des informations supplémentaires peuvent être trouvées sur le site de aha! Centre d'Allergie Suisse.


Plus de nouvelles

Moderne et claire : la nouvelle base de données

Nous avons modernisé la base de données des produits portant le label de qualité Allergie et l'avons rendue plus attrayante. Les informations sur les produits sont présentées de manière plus claire et un lien vous permet d'acheter le produit directement auprès du fabricant. Une fonction de recherche améliorée vous aidera à trouver encore plus facilement et rapidement ce que vous cherchez, mais jugez-en vous-même.

Emmi good day – ne renoncez pas aux produits laitiers, mais seulement au lactose!

Nouveauté dans la gamme Emmi good day: le beurre fouetté sans lactose à l'huile de colza. Non seulement il est super léger et aéré, il pest aussi agréable à tartiner dès la sortie du réfrigérateur. Découvrez les produits Emmy good day portant le label de qualité Allergie.

Un été sans glace?

C'est inimaginable! Bonne nouvelle pour tous les passionnés de glaces: même en cas d'intolérance au lactose ou d'allergie au lait, il n'est pas nécessaire de renoncer à ce plaisir. La variété de glaces sans lactose portant le label de qualité Allergie va du chocolat crémeux à l'exotique mangue-fruit de la passion. Laissez-vous séduire et découvrez vos nouvelles variétés préférées. Offrez-vous le plaisir insouciant de la glace!