Encasings: effective asthma protection

Mite-resistant bed covers – known as encasings – can protect children with asthma, and who also suffer from a house dust mite allergy, from severe seizures. This was found by a British study.

Encasings: effective asthma protection

Those who are allergic to house dust mites are often also affected by asthma. As 90 per cent of the total number of house dust mites in a dwelling are concentrated in the bed, protective covers can provide relief. The so-called encasings ensure that cushions, blankets and mattresses are all insulated against allergies, reduce the allergenic exposure to mites.

Scientifically tested

British researchers carried out a study on children between the ages of 3 and 17 years with asthma and concomitant house dust mite allergy. Its hypothesis: A reduction in the concentration of mite allergens should also reduce the number of serious asthma attacks. For this reason they let 123 out of 286 children sleep in mildew-proof bed-covers for a period of one year; the 118 children in the control group received identical-looking covers without mite-repellent properties. The result is clear: dust samples showed that the concentration of mite allergens in the first group fell by 84 per cent. In comparison to the placebo group, the incidence of hospitalisation as a result of asthma attacks fell by 45 per cent in this group of children.

A sensible measure

The intermediate covers are mite- and allergen-repellent, but have high air and water vapour permeability. In addition to high durability, they are easy to clean and hygienically washable at 60°C to 95°C. Some carry the  Allergy Seal of Quality.

 

Study: Preventing Severe Asthma Exacerbations in Children: A Randomised Trial of Mite Impermeable Bedcover, Murray, Clare S; Foden, Philip; Sumner, Helen; Shepley, Elizabeth; Custovic, Adnan; Simpson, Angela. In: American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Vol. 196, No. 2, 0, 10.03.2017, p. 0.

 

 


more news

Woman shopping, woman with face cream, hoover, laughing child in bed, Allergy Seal of Quality

We have certified new products for you

More choice for people with allergies, intolerances, or sensitive skin. In recent weeks, we have again certified several products that were tested and approved in accordance with the strictest requirements.  Discover the products

Women on the phone

Allergic?

Do you suffer from an allergy or intolerance and are looking for products suitable for you? Here you will find a large selection of products with the Allergy Seal of Quality, which are certified and tested by Service Allergie Suisse. They are also recommended by aha! Swiss Allergy Center. Do you have questions about allergies? Advisors from aha! Swiss Allergy Center will be happy to take time for a detailed consultation: by telephone via the aha!infoline: +41 31 359 90 50 or in writing using the form. More information

Swiss mountain with the Allergy Seal of Quality

The concept Allergy Seal of Quality

Thanks to its nationwide visibility, the Allergy Seal of Quality has a very high recognition value. With certified products, you have the opportunity to open up new markets even in economically difficult times. You can count on the trust of the people who are affected, as information, safety and transparency are important for them when making purchasing choices. Learn more

Encasings: effektiver Schutz bei Asthma

Milbenresistente Bettbezüge – so genannte Encasings – können Kinder mit Asthma, die gleichzeitig an einer Hausstaubmilbenallergie leiden, vor schweren Anfällen schützen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt eine britische Studie.

Encasings: effektiver Schutz bei Asthma

Wer unter einer Hausstaubmilbenallergie leidet, ist oft auch von Asthma betroffen. Da sich etwa 90 Prozent der gesamten Belastung einer Wohnung durch Hausstaubmilben im Bett konzentrieren, können Schutzbezüge Abhilfe schaffen. Die Kissen, Decken und Matratzen werden mit den so genannten Encasings allergendicht umhüllt und reduzieren damit die Allergenbelastung durch Milben.

Wissenschaftlich geprüft

Britische Forscherinnen und Forscher untersuchten Kinder zwischen 3 und 17 Jahren mit Asthma und einer gleichzeitigen Hausstaubmilbenallergie. Ihre Hypothese: Eine Senkung der Konzentration des Milbenallergens müsste auch die Zahl der schweren Asthmaanfälle verringern. Deswegen liessen sie von 286 Kindern 123 ein Jahr lang in milbenundurchlässigen Bettbezügen schlafen; die 118 Kinder in der Kontrollgruppe erhielten identisch aussehende Bezüge ohne milbenabweisende Eigenschaften. Das Ergebnis ist eindeutig: Staubproben ergaben, dass die Konzentration der Milbenallergene bei der ersten Gruppe um 84 Prozent sank. Die Kinder mussten im Vergleich zur Placebogruppe auch um 45 Prozent seltener mit einem Asthmaanfall ins Krankenhaus.

Eine sinnvolle Massnahme

Die Zwischenbezüge bestehen sind milben- und allergendicht, haben aber eine hohe Luft- und Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit. Neben einer hohen Strapazierfähigkeit sind sie pflegeleicht und hygienisch waschbar bei 60°C bis 95°C. Eine Auswahl trägt das unabhängige Allergie-Gütesiegel.

 

Studie: Preventing Severe Asthma Exacerbations in Children: A Randomised Trial of Mite Impermeable Bedcover, Murray, Clare S; Foden, Philip; Sumner, Helen; Shepley, Elizabeth; Custovic, Adnan; Simpson, Angela. In: American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Vol. 196, No. 2, 0, 10.03.2017, p. 0.

 

 


Weitere Neuigkeiten

Frau beim Einkaufen, Frau mit Gesichtscreme, Staubsauger, lachendes Kind im Bett, Allergie-Gütesiegel

Wir haben für Sie neue Produkte zertifiziert

Mehr Auswahl für Menschen mit Allergien, Intoleranzen oder sensibler Haut. In den letzten Wochen konnten wir wiederum einige Produkte zertifizieren, welche nach strengsten Anforderungen geprüft und freigegeben wurden. Zu den neu zertifizierten Produkten

Allergie-Gütesiegel

15 Jahre Allergie-Gütesiegel

Mit dem Allergie-Gütesiegel wird bescheinigt, dass die für Menschen mit Allergien und Intoleranzen wichtigen Informationen auf den Verpackungen zusätzlich kontrolliert und bestätigt wurden. Möchten Sie mehr darüber wissen? Hier geht es zum Video

Frau am Telefon

Allergisch?

Leiden Sie an einer Allergie oder Intoleranz und sind auf der Suche nach Produkten die für Sie geeignet sind? Hier finden Sie eine grosse Auswahl, diese Produkte werden von aha! Allergiezentrum Schweiz empfohlen. Haben Sie Fragen zu Allergien: Beraterinnen und Berater von aha! Allergiezentrum Schweiz geben telefonische Auskunft über die aha!infoline: +41 31 359 90 50 oder schriftlich per Formular. Mehr Informationen